Gamers, editing, and (mis)spelling

I have run across quite a few great articles/blogs about writing and the role of language and editors and writers lately. Is it me, or is this an issue circling recently? Two of them make great connections to gaming.

First, the New York Times ran an article Sunday about a new tv cartoon called WordGirl. Awesome. I haven’t even seen it yet and she is my hero!

In yesterday’s Seattle P.I. Regina Hackett  blogs about the humility she learned from gamers’ adaptations of misspellings. (Read to the end where she sticks it to CultureGrrl – go Regina!)

As an editor who has invented quite a few words through my own mistypings, I appreciate the straying of editorial issues into the mainstream.

Leave a Reply

